Biographies of Members of the Wise Persons’ Committee

Michael Phelps (Chair)
Chairman of Dornoch Capital Inc., a private investment company, and former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Westcoast Energy Inc. Mr. Phelps holds senior positions and directorships with a number of energy companies, including board member of Duke Energy Corporation. Mr. Phelps is a director of the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, GLOBE Foundation of Canada, Canadian Pacific Railway Company and the Canfor Corporation. He is a Distinguished University Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Sauder School of Business, the University of British Columbia. Earlier in his career, Mr. Phelps was a practising lawyer in Manitoba and a special advisor to the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources of Canada. Mr. Phelps was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2001. He received a law degree from the University of Manitoba in 1970 and a Master of Laws from the London School of Economics in 1971. Mr. Phelps can be reached at (604) 661-3303.

Harold MacKay (Vice-Chair)
Senior partner in the Regina-based law firm of MacPherson Leslie & Tyerman LLP. Mr. MacKay served as the chair of the Task Force on the Future of the Canadian Financial Services Sector from 1997 to 1998, and has advised the governments of Saskatchewan and Canada on various public policy issues, including post-secondary education and the governance of Crown corporations. He also served as Lead Director of the Bank of Canada and as Chairman and Director of the Federal Business Development Bank. Mr. MacKay is currently the Chair of the Saskatchewan Institute of Public Policy and the Clifford Clark Visiting Economist with the federal Department of Finance. He was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in November 2002. Mr. MacKay earned his law degree from Dalhousie University in 1963.

Thomas Allen
A Senior Partner, Ogilvy ;Renault, Chairman of the Accounting Standards Oversight Council of Canada, and a member of the Advisory Board of the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions. Mr. Allen is Chairman of Westwind Capital Corporation, parent of an independent investment dealer, and is a former Vice-Chairman of Gordon Capital Corporation. Until recently he served for many years as a public director of the Investment Dealers Association of Canada (IDA). Mr. Allen is director of a number of public corporations. He earned a law degree from the University of Western Ontario in 1963.

Pierre Brunet
Chair, Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants. Prior to his retirement in 2001, Mr. Brunet served as Co-Chair and Co-Chief Executive Officer of National Bank Financial and as Chair of the IDA from 1984 to 1985. Mr. Brunet currently serves on the Board of Directors of a number of companies and cultural and educational organizations and was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1999. He is a graduate of the École des hautes études commerciales and qualified as a chartered accountant in 1964.

Wendy Dobson
Director, Institute for International Business, and Professor at the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto. Ms. Dobson is a former President of the C.D. Howe Institute, an economic policy research organization, and was an Associate Deputy Minister in the federal Department of Finance from 1987 to 1989. She currently serves on the boards of a number of companies in the life sciences, financial and transportation industries. Ms. Dobson obtained her PhD in Economics from Princeton University in 1979.

Edwin C. Harris
Counsel with the Halifax office of the law firm Patterson Palmer. Mr. Harris is a member of the editorial board of the Canadian Tax Journal. He served as Chair of the Canadian Tax Foundation from 1992 to 1993 and was Chairman of the Accounting Research Advisory Board of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants from 1986 to 1989. He has also taught corporate and tax law at the Dalhousie Law School. Mr. Harris earned a Commerce degree from Dalhousie University in 1954, a law degree from Dalhousie University in 1958 and a Master of Laws from Harvard University in 1959.

Michael Tims
Chairman, Peters & Co. Limited, a Calgary-based investment firm engaged in securities brokerage, corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions. He served as Chairman of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund from 1998 to 2000, and as Chairman of the IDA from 1995 to 1996. He is also currently the Chairman of West Island College, a bilingual private school in Calgary. Mr. Tims has previously taught Finance and Business Policy at the University of Calgary and remains active with the university and other organizations. He graduated from the University of Calgary in 1976 and holds an MBA degree from Harvard University.
FRANÇAIS

Notes biographiques des membres du Comité de personnes averties

Michael Phelps (président)
Président de Dornoch Capital Inc., une société privée d'investissement, M. Phelps a été autrefois président et chef de la direction de Westcoast Energy Inc. Il occupe également des postes de cadre supérieur et d'administrateur au sein de plusieurs sociétés d'énergie, siégeant notamment au conseil d'administration de la Duke Energy Corporation. M. Phelps occupe également un poste de directeur à la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce, à la Canadien Pacifique Limitée et à la Canfor Corporation, et il est président de la GLOBE Foundation of Canada. M. Phelps est président du comité de mise en candidature de l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada. Il siège également au conseil consultatif de Aon Reed Stenhouse Inc. M. Phelps est chargé de cours et professeur adjoint éminent de la Sauder School of Business de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Plus tôt dans sa carrière, M. Phelps a été avocat en exercice au Manitoba et conseiller spécial du ministre de l'Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources du Canada. M.Phelps a été nommé Officier de l'Ordre du Canada en 2001. Il a obtenu un diplôme en droit de l'Université du Manitoba en 1970 et une maîtrise en droit de la London School of Economics en 1971. M. Phelps peut être joint au (604) 661-3303.

Harold MacKay (vice-président)
Associé principal du cabinet d’avocats de Regina MacPherson Leslie & Tyerman LLP., M. MacKay a été président du Groupe de travail sur l’avenir du secteur des services financiers canadien de 1997 à 1998; il a également conseillé les gouvernements de la Saskatchewan et du Canada au sujet de divers enjeux stratégiques, notamment l’enseignement postsecondaire et la régie des sociétés d’État.

Il a aussi été administrateur de la Banque du Canada et président et administrateur de la Banque fédérale de développement. M. MacKay est actuellement président du Saskatchewan Institute of Public Policy, et il est économiste invité Clifford-Clark auprès du ministère des Finances du Canada. Il a été fait Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en novembre 2002. M. MacKay a obtenu un diplôme en droit de l’Université Dalhousie en 1963.

Thomas Allen
Associé principal chez Ogilvy Renault, président du Conseil de surveillance de la normalisation comptable, et membre du Conseil consultatif du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, M. Allen est président de la Westwind Capital Corporation, la société-mère d’un cabinet de courtage indépendant, et il a été vice-président chez Gordon Capital Corporation. Il a pendant longtemps été directeur public de l’Association canadienne des courtiers en valeurs mobilières (ACCOVAM). À l’heure actuelle, M. Allen est directeur d’un certain nombre de sociétés publiques. Il a obtenu un diplôme en droit de l’Université Western Ontario en 1963.

Pierre Brunet
Président de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés, M. Brunet a été, à titre conjoint, et ce, avant son départ à la retraite en 2001, président et chef de la direction de la Financière Banque nationale et président de l’ACCOVAM de 1984 à 1985. M. Brunet siège actuellement au conseil d’administration d’un certain nombre de sociétés et d’organismes culturels et éducatifs, et il a été fait Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 1999. M. Brunet est diplômé de l’École des hautes études commerciales, et il est devenu comptable agréé en 1964.

Wendy Dobson
Directrice de l’Institute for International Business et professeur à la Rotman School of Management (Université de Toronto), Mme Dobson a été présidente de l’Institut C.D. Howe, un organisme de recherche sur les politiques économiques, et elle a été sous-ministre déléguée au ministère des Finances du Canada de 1987 à 1989. Mme Dobson siège actuellement au conseil d’administration d’un certain nombre de sociétés dans les secteurs des sciences de la vie, des finances et du transport. Mme Dobson a obtenu un doctorat en économie de l’Université Princeton en 1979.

Edwin C. Harris
Avocat au cabinet de Halifax du cabinet Patterson Palmer, M. Harris est membre de la rédaction de la Revue fiscale canadienne. Il a été président de l’Association canadienne d’études fiscales de 1992 à 1993 et président du Conseil consultatif sur les recherches comptables de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés de 1986 à 1989. Il a également enseigné le droit corporatif et fiscal à la Dalhousie Law School. M. Harris a obtenu un diplôme en commerce de l’Université Dalhousie en 1954, un diplôme en droit de la même université en 1958, et une maîtrise en droit de l’Université Harvard en 1959.

Michael Tims
Président de Peters & Co. Limited, une société de services financiers de Calgary spécialisée dans les services de courtage en valeurs mobilières, le financement et le regroupement des sociétés, M. Tims a été président du Fonds canadien de protection des épargnants de 1998 à 2000 et président de l’Association canadienne des courtiers en valeurs mobilières de 1995 à 1996. Il est actuellement président du West Island College, une école privée bilingue de Calgary. M. Tims a également enseigné la politique des affaires et des finances à l’Université de Calgary, et reste très actif au sein de cette université et d’autres organismes. Il a obtenu un diplôme de l’Université de Calgary en 1976, et il détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Harvard.
ENGLISH